Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Fort Ben Branch Grand Opening

Fort Ben Branch Grand Opening

2023-08-19 10:00:00 2023-08-19 16:30:00 America/Indiana/Indianapolis Fort Ben Branch Grand Opening Join us for the grand opening of our 25th location! We will be celebrating all day starting with a ribbon-cutting ceremony followed by crafts, refreshments, live music, family activities, and more! Fort Ben Branch -

Saturday, August 19
10:00am - 4:30pm

Add to Calendar 2023-08-19 10:00:00 2023-08-19 16:30:00 America/Indiana/Indianapolis Fort Ben Branch Grand Opening Join us for the grand opening of our 25th location! We will be celebrating all day starting with a ribbon-cutting ceremony followed by crafts, refreshments, live music, family activities, and more! Fort Ben Branch -

Join us for the grand opening of our 25th location! We will be celebrating all day starting with a ribbon-cutting ceremony followed by crafts, refreshments, live music, family activities, and more!

Come help us celebrate with:

  • crafts
  • refreshments
  • live music from Bruce Valance and the Top Groove Alliance band
  • face painting with Cinamon the Clown
  • live animal meet and greets with Silly Safaris
  • a poetry reading from the Poet's Laureate group with Arts for Lawrence
  • a performance by Ballet Folklorico Mosaicos

Early attendees will enjoy an outdoor performance by Circle City Sidewalk Stompers at 9:30 a.m.

Sensory Information: Loud music and potential for large crowds. 

Fort Ben Branch

Branch manager
Shelby Peak

Hours
We're closed Wednesday June 19
Mon, Jun 17 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jun 18 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jun 19 Closed
Thu, Jun 20 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Jun 21 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 22 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 23 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

The 22,000 square foot Fort Ben Branch provides easy access to Library services and collections due to its location in a high-traffic community with access to public transportation. It includes community meeting spaces and study rooms, beautiful landscaping components, and walk-up, bike-up, and drive-up material return locations. Its roof-top solar photovoltaic system will provides 80% of the building's electricity needs. The Library was envisioned as part of a redevelopment plan since the land was decommissioned and transitioned from the U.S. military to the City of Indianapolis in the 1990s.

The Branch is the first library branch in the state of Indiana to become a Certified Autism Center™ by receiving an international autism accreditation through the International Board of Credentialing and Continuing Education Standards (IBCCES). 

Upcoming events

Thu, Jun 20, 10:30am - 11:30am

Thu, Jun 20, 11:00am - 11:45am

Canceled
Sat, Jun 22, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Sat, Jun 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Study Room 5

Mon, Jun 24, 1:00pm - 1:45pm

Wed, Jun 26, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Thu, Jun 27, 10:30am - 11:30am

Sat, Jun 29, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Study Room 5

Tue, Jul 02, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
This event is full

Tue, Jul 09, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
This event is full

Tue, Jul 09, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Thu, Jul 11, 10:30am - 11:30am

Sat, Jul 13, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Study Room 5

Mon, Jul 15, 11:30am - 12:30pm
This event is full

Thu, Jul 18, 10:30am - 11:30am

Thu, Jul 18, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Jul 20, 11:00am - 12:00pm
This event is full

Sat, Jul 20, 2:00pm - 3:00pm