close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Pork & Beans Brass Band Concert

Pork & Beans Brass Band Concert

Circulating Sound Concert Series

2022-10-30 15:00:00 2022-10-30 16:00:00 America/Indiana/Indianapolis Pork & Beans Brass Band Concert Come enjoy some New Orleans Jazz with the Pork & Beans Brass Band! This event is part of our Circulating Sound Concert Series, highlighting a variety of live music. It is free and open to the public. Central Library -

Sunday, October 30
3:00pm - 4:00pm

Add to Calendar 2022-10-30 15:00:00 2022-10-30 16:00:00 America/Indiana/Indianapolis Pork & Beans Brass Band Concert Come enjoy some New Orleans Jazz with the Pork & Beans Brass Band! This event is part of our Circulating Sound Concert Series, highlighting a variety of live music. It is free and open to the public. Central Library -

Come enjoy some New Orleans Jazz with the Pork & Beans Brass Band! This event is part of our Circulating Sound Concert Series, highlighting a variety of live music. It is free and open to the public.

New Orleans is often called the birthplace of Jazz music, with Jazz of all types floating on the air from street corners and clubs throughout the city. One of the best-known varieties of jazz that evokes New Orleans is the brass band, trekking down the street celebrating a person's life. That's the kind of jazz you can expect from Pork & Beans Brass Band, with 8 pieces (Sousaphone, Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Trombones, Trumpets, and Sax). Don't let the "funeral" idea fool you, though - this is sure to be a rollicking "booty shaking" time!

AGE GROUP: | Families | All Ages | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Concert/Performance |

TAGS: | |

Central Library

Phone: 317-275-4100

Hours
Mon, Sep 26 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Sep 27 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Sep 28 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Thu, Sep 29 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Sep 30 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Oct 01 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Oct 02 12:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

As the hub of the Indianapolis Public Library system, Central Library showcases renowned architecture and services. The original 1917 building, designed by Paul Cret and constructed of Indiana limestone in the Greek Doric style, was considered one of the most outstanding secular buildings in the U.S. Its six-story glass and steel-framed addition, designed by Evans Woollen, opened in 2007.

Upcoming events

Fri, Sep 30, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Fri, Sep 30, 1:30pm - 3:00pm
This event is full

Sat, Oct 01, 10:00am - 10:45am

Sat, Oct 01, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Special Collections Room
This event is full

Sat, Oct 01, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Sun, Oct 02, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Mon, Oct 03, 11:00am - 11:45am

Mon, Oct 03, 4:30pm - 7:30pm

Mon, Oct 03, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Thu, Oct 06, 10:30am - 12:30pm

Fri, Oct 07, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Oct 08, 10:00am - 10:45am

Sat, Oct 08, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Special Collections Room

Sat, Oct 08, 1:30pm - 4:00pm
Special Collections Room
This event is full

Sat, Oct 08, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Sun, Oct 09, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Wed, Oct 12, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Oct 13, 4:15pm - 5:15pm

Fri, Oct 14, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Oct 15, 10:00am - 10:45am

Sat, Oct 15, 11:30am - 1:00pm

Sat, Oct 15, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Sun, Oct 16, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Mon, Oct 17, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Mon, Oct 17, 4:30pm - 7:30pm

Mon, Oct 17, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Oct 18, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Computer Training Lab
This event is full

Thu, Oct 20, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Knall Meeting Room

Fri, Oct 21, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Oct 22, 10:00am - 10:45am

Sat, Oct 22, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Special Collections Room

Sat, Oct 22, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Registration opens Saturday, October 1 2022 at 9:00am

Sat, Oct 22, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Oct 23, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Sun, Oct 23, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Rescheduled
Mon, Oct 24, 4:30pm - 5:00pm
New date Monday, October 24, 4:30pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Oct 24, 4:30pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Oct 24, 4:30pm - 7:30pm

Mon, Oct 24, 6:00pm - 7:45pm

Mon, Oct 24, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Oct 25, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Computer Training Lab
This event is full

Fri, Oct 28, 11:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Oct 29, 10:00am - 10:45am

Sat, Oct 29, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Special Collections Room

Sat, Oct 29, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Sat, Oct 29, 2:00pm - 4:00pm